Local Government Reorganisation - New Website

update by Nick Gamble, 18 November 2021

Logo for two unitary authorities

A new public website has been launched to help people keep abreast with developments as the county is reorganised into two unitary authorities

From 1 April 2023 local government in Cumbria will change. The current six district councils and Cumbria County Council will be replaced by two new unitary authorities.

These changes aim to:

Improve services for local people making them more effective and efficient with a greater integration of planning and delivery activities.
Provide greater clarity for residents on their democratic representation, making local authorities even more accountable to the people they serve with more effective governance arrangements.
Provide a stronger voice to central government.
Attract inward investment into our communities.

The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.